
 

 

Q&A  #2 Use of the Bowsprit 
 
 
Posting Date: 11 February, 2024 
  
 
 
 
Clarification of the expression ‘in the act of being set’ in Class Rule C.9.8 (a)(1), Use of 
the Bowprit. 
 
The text below does not change CR C.9.8 (a) 
 
For the 2024 SB20 World Championship the umpires and the international jury will consider that a spinnaker is ‘in the 

act of being set’ when the crew is engaged in a continuous sequence of necessary actions to set the spinnaker. This 

implies that the process is ongoing, emphasizing the fluid and connected nature of the actions involved in setting the 

spinnaker. If these actions are interrupted or unduly delayed, then the spinnaker will not be ‘in the act of being set’ 

any more and, if the bowsprit is not retracted, the boat will break Class rule C.9.8.(a)(1).  

 

Note that a bowsprit that is extended when the spinnaker is not set or in the act of being set or recovered, will be 

deemed not in its normal position. In such cases, the bowsprit will not be taken into account when determining if 

boats are overlapped. 
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